Avocrownie: Healthy Brownie in a Mug

I can’t think of a better way to start off my blog than with a food post, especially since this skinny microwavable recipe includes my favourite thing ever; avocados.

avocrownie
Ingredients
– 1 tablespoon honey (or any other sugar substitute)
– 1 tablespoon wholemeal flour
– 1 tablespoon cocoa powder
– pinch of baking soda
– pinch of salt
– 1/4 of an avocado
– 1 tablespoon of water
– a few drops of vanilla extract
toppings: blueberries, walnuts, chocolate chips, ice cream, pretty much anything your heart desires

It might seem a little weird at first but I’m sure I’m not the first person to use this wonderfully versatile fruit in a dessert recipe and I promise that it’ll turn out delicious – the buttery texture and subtle taste is a perfect substitute for the oil or butter that you would usually use. Plus extra brownie points since it’s so much healthier than those store bought cavity inducers.

Calories: 124  Time: 5 minutes

Instructions

  1. Add dry ingredients (flour, cocoa powder,baking soda, salt) into a mug and stir
  2. Mash avocado in a separate bowl
  3. Add water, mashed avocado, honey and vanilla extract
  4. Stir well until combined
  5. Heat in microwave at 1000 watts for 1 min 30 sec. If you want a fudgier consistency, 1 minute will do
  6. Add on whatever toppings you want. Since I was eating this for breakfast (perfect start to my intense study session), I added on blueberries and walnuts.
Pre-microwave
Pre-microwave
Balancing my dessert breakfast with some Vitamin C
Balancing my dessert breakfast with some Vitamin C

Adapted from realmomkitchen

3 thoughts on “Avocrownie: Healthy Brownie in a Mug

What are your thoughts?

