Wheeler’s Yard

I have yet to understand my boyfriend’s obsession with cycling and to be perfectly honest I haven’t really made much of an effort to. I feel like my visit to a bicycle themed cafe is the first step (at least to ease myself into the mind set with food and coffee).Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

My mom was the one who suggested that we go to Wheeler’s Yard for some overdue mother-daughter bonding time. Despite the torrential rain, we made it to the cafe safe and sound, albeit totally drenched and freezing.The café takes up half of an industrial ware house and the other half is dedicated to a bicycle atelier. After glancing at the price tags of the bikes on show I got depressed and had to remind myself that I was here for the café, which had on offer things much more suited to my price range, ie. food and drinks.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with c1 presetIt was a shame that the weather was so bad because that meant that the only seating options were indoors where there was very little natural light. At least that meant we could appreciate the bicycle themed décor which was so cute and definitely got me excited about my choices for my bicycle purchase next year for uni (probably 4th hand and about a tenth of the price though).

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetI had studied the menu online beforehand (I have a problem with indecision) and had already decided on the pan seared salmon ($22.90). My mom switched from nachos, to cheese panini and finally went with the grilled chicken ($17.90) – see if she had done what I did there would not have been that problem.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

 

 

 

 

I was very happy with the portion size of my salmon but it was a tad too overcooked and though the gravy that came with it went quite well with the side of creamy mash, it didn’t complement the salmon. I tried my mom’s chicken and I preferred it to mine. The chicken was tender plus it came with mushrooms. Maybe next time I should listen to the menu (the chicken was a chef’s recommendation).

Coffee was much more satisfying – I got a skinny cappuccino ($5) with less milk and they managed to get the ratio right (too much milk makes me sick, I’m such a weakling). I always admire the coffee art on my coffees and it almost makes me want to be a barista just to learn how to create those magical patterns.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

After about 5 minutes of standing in front of the dessert counter, weighing between the apple crumble, chocolate truffle or lemon meringue tart (there wasn’t a dessert section on the online menu) we chose the lemon meringue tart ($7.50). I popped off to the bathroom and when I came back turns out my mom had ordered the chocolate truffle cake ($6) as well because you can only pay with visa for payments above $20. Good excuse.Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

The meringue of the lemon meringue tart was a bit too creamy and not light enough for my liking though I did like the tanginess of the lemon filling. The pastry shell had an interesting texture (I think there was some sort of cereal baked into it).

The chocolate truffle cake had different layers of textures – cake, mousse and the crispy base (which is my favourite bit). The only thing was that it was milk chocolate and I much prefer dark chocolate when it comes to truffle cakes (but that might just be me). Anyways, I preferred it to the lemon meringue tart.

The food wasn’t anything special but I will definitely come back in the future just for the setting – it’s the perfect place to read or study because it’s so spacious and cozy (and it has free wifi wooo!) Plus good coffee to keep my brain going.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Yes, I did get the memo about the colour coordination

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wheeler’s Yard
Address: 28 Lor Ampas, Singapore, Singapore 328781
Tel: 6254 9128
Opening hours: Mon – Thurs: 11am – 7pm (closed on Tues) | Fri – Sun: 11am – 8pm

 

What are your thoughts?

