Paleo Perspective by Amni

Hello beautiful people! I don’t know about you, but I am really into keeping a healthy clean lifestyle (it’s a bit addictive actually). Eating fresh multi coloured foods and making creative and quick meals make me feel like a modern hippie . And the whole you are what you eat theory really comes through because paired with exercising, a great big beautiful cycle is created which results in you becoming a beautiful person inside and out.

Okay…that made me seem like a crazy hippy. I’m done. Despite all the health raving, this doesn’t mean that I don’t eat chocolate or that I never indulge. I do. I’ve gone into a grocery store intending to be healthy and almost been caught out at the counter Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetby some mini cupcake brownies (ask tiff!).

Quite recently I heard about an extension of clean eating called the Paleo diet. Here’s the breakdown:

What you can eat: Meat and Fish, Vegetables, Fruit, Nuts and seeds

What you avoid:  Processed foods, artificial ingredients, fast food, alcohol, dairy, carbonated drinks, junk food, grains, legumes

You’re right. The first list looks much smaller, and it is. But I actually didn’t have that much of a problem with scrounging up daily meals. Okay, I was a little bummed because even one of my favourite health go-to food, quinoa was on the blacklist. But other than that, my Paleo week was satisfying, I was eating tons of fruits and cashew nuts as well as exercising with more motivation and it was great.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Let me just say that being paleo in a non-paleo world is hard. Even eating clean in a world that doesn’t eat ‘clean’ is hard. During that week, I found only one paleo café place called Caveman Food in Singapore and it’s in this cute underground section in Novena surrounded by other gluten-free/ organic cafes. Their menu is minuscule… perfectly reflective of the paleo community in Singapore which is just as miniscule.

In terms of the sweet stuff, the Paleo diet allows dark chocolate, so that was a bonus. I did miss cakes though. Luckily, with every unhealthy food there is always a healthy / paleo alternative. This great website offers tons of recipes and tips on how to ‘paleolize’ your life. This website is also where I found an amazing flour-less recipe for cookie bars, and also the cauliflower crust pizza. Yeah its kind of amazing, whoever made it deserves a prize.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Don’t be deceived by how pizza-ish it looks: the crust is totally carb free!
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Delicious flourless cookie cake bars

However, by the end of the week I decided that I wasn’t going to continue on the paleo path, because there were a few things that I knew would hinder said path – my impending student university budget and lack of time to make flourless bread or cauliflower crust pizza. It may seem like an excuse BUT I even researched the benefits of a Paleo diet and found an article that debunked it (sorry Paleos out there). It kinda broke my heart as well because it was short stint, but I loved it.

I’ve made clean living a part of my life for about seven months now and I love it. Don’t get me wrong, for about two of those months I was at the low end of the healthy line. But it’s all about getting back on the health wagon when you’re down and never giving up. It’s not about doing it one month and then stopping another month, it’s a lifelong commitment! For those of you on the fence about clean eating, here’s a piece of advice, a clean and healthy lifestyle is tough to start and commit to, but it teaches you an important lesson on loving yourself from the inside and out.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Here are a few paleo websites if you want to learn more about different people’s experience with paleo:

Well that’s it for my guest post darlings! I hope it’s given you some insight on clean eating, or the paleo diet if you any of you are interested in trying out the Paleo fad as well.

Stay beautiful!

Amni 🙂

p.s. for more on my clean lifestyle check out my instagram @asgfhj if you’re keen!

What are your thoughts?

