OOTD: Melbourne Outfitters

(Like Urban Oufitters getittt… I really should stop making up titles that I need to explain)

As I probably won’t get round to all the good stuff just yet (ie. food, places) and only have access to the photos on my phone which is a tiny fraction of the entirety of my photo collection (limited mainly to selfies, landscapes, selfies with landscapes), you’re going to have to make do with an outfit post.

Australians are so well dressed it’s kind of intimidating. They’re just so effortlessly stylish. And I don’t know what it is about holidays, maybe the Australian edginess is rubbing off on me (I’d like to think), but I always seem to put in an extra effort towards my outfits. It’s almost as if because I’m in a different place, I feel like I have the freedom to reinvent myself. Reinvent my wardrobe if anything. Anyways, here’s a little taste of my Melbourne experience through my clothes.

Mint Matching

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

7 am coffee at Market Lane in Queen Victoria’s Market where lo and behold, I discover that the coffee cup is the same colour as my scarf. Thought to myself “well one of us is going to have to change” but then realised that it’s kind of like those matching couples – kind of cringey but cute nonetheless.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

I realise as I’m writing this that my scarf is not mint coloured. I think I got caught up in my quest for an alliterative sub-heading which made me temporarily colour blind. I am not going to change it now because “Turquoise Matching” just doesn’t have the same ring to it. Anyways, the pièce de resistance for today’s number was definitely my bright turquoise pashmina (and the matching turquoise paper cup of course). I got this scarf (and a few others) from Little India for a crazy bargain of $10 – but more on that purchase later in my Little India post. Paired it with a few basics: navy jeggings from Maple in Hong Kong, black suede jacket from Nathalie Chaize and my fave slip-ons that I practically live in now.

Holiday Hoodlumming

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

One of the places I was adamant that we visited was Collingwood and I’m glad we did, I mean look at the street art. It was also a perfect setting for me to rock my neon orange $5 beanie from H&M.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I usually do not wear hats mainly because I can’t pull the majority of them off and also because my hair is thick enough to keep my ears warm during the winter season aka hat season. But I’m willing to make an exception for this neon beanie because who doesn’t love a bit of neon in their life.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetI seem to have a thing for having one brightly coloured item and then the rest of my outfit being pretty plain: black crop cami top (same as the one I wore here), white denim jeans from Maple (I went a bit cray and now have the same jeans in navy, baby blue and white denim), denim jacket from Bugis Street, leather chain sling bag from Primark and my slip-ons.

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

White Picket Fence

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Sunday lived up to its name. I was so grateful for wearing white because sitting out in the sun at midday would not have been as fun in black. Good fashion choices = good life choices. Wearing a white long sleeve lace crop top from H&M, baby blue denim jeans from Maple.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

My very blue sunglasses are from Unity Eyewear (they’re AUS$30 online but $15 at the market), gold choker is from Little India (more about this gem in the Little India post I will write in the near future) and world map watch from Oxford vintage market (lovely present from my equally lovely friends).

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Despite the sun on this sunday, it was a bit more chilly at the beach so kept cosy with my white jumper from Bugis Street.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with hb1 presetMy friend said that with my film camera around my neck at all times I either look like a tourist or a hipster. I am, by definition a tourist in this beautiful city. But with the colossal asian population here, I think I could quite easily pass off as a hipster. Except in restaurants maybe – the amount of pictures snapped and the amount of angles they are snapped in kind of blow my cover. Anyways, that’s it for Melbourne outfit-wise. Next up Sydney style wooo!

stay fab, Tiff

9 thoughts on “OOTD: Melbourne Outfitters

    1. Thanks joanne! oo that’s so cool that you live in Melbourne, after this trip I’ve added australia to the list of places I’d like to live in when I’m older. and I’m actually studying at a UK university! whereabouts are you from?

What are your thoughts?

