Melbourne Darling

Isn’t ‘darling’ such a fabulous word? And hearing it directed at me, in an Australian accent (which I have always loved and personally feel that it is best described as a mouthful of sunshine), just warms my heart and is a perfect antidote to the 5 degree 5 am arrival in Melbourne airport. Smelling coffee as I stepped into the arrival area, I immediately decided that I was going to like this city and 3 days after, it’s safe to say that I do (great food, great coffee, great people – what’s there not to like?) Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset First day was spent in an utter daze as we were functioning on 4 hours of sleep (couldn’t check in until after lunch). Tried the famous Market Lane coffee at Queen Victoria Market. I got a latte which only had one shot and so was a tad too milky for my liking. Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Chanced upon a cute flower shop among other things. Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Ventured to St. Kilda’s which was perfect for lazy strolling. Had lunch at a cute cafe called Phamish which serves a fusion of Modern Australian food and Middle Eastern. I was spoilt for choices but decided to go with the Chicken Fatoush Salad with radish, cherry tomato, cucumber, mint, onion, mixed toasted seeds & oven baked Lebanese bread topped with sumac yoghurt. Eating it was a beautiful experience – so light yet so filling. Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset The weather was lovely and sunny so I was incredibly snap happy. I had a camera rotation going – DSLR to SLR to polaroid camera to phone (good thing I had my dad as the official unused camera holder). IMG_7092 IMG_7089 Walked from Luna park, along the Marina boardwalk – saw some joggers, dog walkers and lots of skaters – all the way until Ormond Point. IMG_7094 IMG_7097 Had a lovely view of the Melbourne cityscape and it was definitely worth the walk. Dinner was seafood at a restaurant called Sharkfin in Chinatown. My favourite dish was the lobster – it tasted really fresh and the meat was sweet and not too chewy. I also really liked the beef slices (though I usually don’t like red meat) except for the fact that it was smothered in sweet sauce. Didn’t take that many pictures because Asian food in general is just not that photogenic (how sad but at least it tastes good) and anyways, my hands were too busy trying to get lobster meat out of the shell (gotta work for yo food). Second day’s weather was even more beautiful than the first. Sleepy start to the day at 10 am. Headed to Queen Victoria Market to pick up fresh fruit for breakfast but ended up having to take a punnet of strawberries with me and eat on the go as I was late to meet a friend (when am I ever on time). Caught up over coffee and brunch at Seven Seeds which was really nice. IMG_7096 Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset I had a house-smoked salmon served on crumpets with cream spinach puree, hollandaise and poached eggs. Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset After breakfast, we went up onto the roof of his accommodation where we had a wonderful view. I love how peaceful Melbourne is, especially from above.  Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset IMG_7098Stopped off at Collingwood for some street art loving. The afternoon sun was perfect lighting for the beautiful array of colours on the brick wall canvas. Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset  Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
View from the apartment window

Sunday brunch dragged on for a little too long and cut our Great Ocean Road trip short. The food and atmosphere was amazing though – easily my favourite cafe. Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetAl fresco dining in the Sunday sun. I felt like we were in somebody’s backyard – love the homey feel. Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetKinda bummed we didn’t get to see the 12 Apostles but the coastal view was stunning all the way.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetMelbourne is one of the places that I wouldn’t mind going back to time and time again. 3 days definitely wasn’t enough. Next up: Sydney post.

What are your thoughts?

