Monday Move-in Madness

This post has been put off for way too long and being stuck in bed sick has given me time for a breather from the insanity that is uni life so I will attempt a quick all-inclusive summary of the past few weeks during which I’ve been slightly MIA. Brace yourself for lots and lots of pictures because I’m lazy but I promise that I will be much more on top of it for future posts.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

After suffering from major FOMO instigated by the various housewarming parties I couldn’t go to, it was finally my turn to move in. One of the joys of being a second year at Balliol is getting kicked out of our college accommodation. This means that I won’t have to spend every last day of term lugging 10 boxes into the dark depths of the international storage room (yayyy!). Whilst I’m definitely going to miss hall food and the proximity of hall (everything about hall basically), I must say that I’m quite excited for this new year in our new house (christened Isaac after Isaac Newton). It’s so nice being back in this beautiful old city in a beautiful new home – the high levels of stress during house hunting period paid off.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

The happy reunion was slightly tainted by the 9 am wake up call (which was meant to be a 7 am one but was delayed by various bus fuckups) I inflicted upon my house mates. Best pals Gems and Mons came to meet me in the pouring rain which was so nice of them (love you guys).

Hectic freshers week despite not being freshers anymore and equally hectic two weeks following it – lots of meetings (for uni, for football and for our house), nights out (two nights in a row is enough to tire me out – not a fresh fresher anymore), essays on topics I am clueless about, general chores which just take up so much time and energy.

These energy draining activities were counteracted with much more pleasurable, poetic ones ie. catching up sipping on a skinny capp with my fave gal Fats at our fave café, waking up next to my boy with the late morning sun shining through the blinds, tea and biscuits with the gals in our pristine kitchen, cooking up some gourmet meals (not really) in said pristine kitchen, 3 course meals plus cocktails on date night, fruit heaven at Gloucester Green fruit market, late night post bop pizzas, all-you-can-eat free coffee and cupcakes at Turl Street Kitchen, “sunday roast” dinner with the house famalam, first football match which we smashed (13-3 to Balliol), cutest corner bookstores, morning runs and strolls on sunny weekends, so all in all had a good first few weeks.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

IMG_7992Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

10530845_10152597151848355_2037321396680501130_nProcessed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with lv03 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

My favourite part about moving in is turning the new space into my own – I never feel completely at ease until my room looks relatively lived in. Cue bunting, cacti, polaroids and other miscellaneous objects.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Soooo on another note, I have an extremely bad habit of buying things that I don’t actually need, and this becomes even more apparent when I’m shopping in sunny Singapore leading up to my return to England. Somehow, I always manage to delude myself that the sheer kimono I’m about to buy will indeed keep me warm and snug during the winter months. I have therefore resorted to online shopping and have recently come across Chicnova. Obediently staying in the winter sections of jackets, sweaters and coats, I picked out two pieces from their best sellers – a beige knit pullover and a baby pink mohair sweater.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

I don’t know what it is about packages that make me so happy but, alongside seeing all my friends (who I’ve missed an insane amount), receiving my first package at my new address was near the top of my list of the ingredients for my moving in high. Thanks to Chicnova, I will be embracing the sweater weather instead of shivering in my summer wear.

Both of the pieces were on sale (love me a good bargain) but even without the reduction, they were both very affordable. Plus shipping is free globally (I’ve had nightmare experiences with shipping fees one too many times). Click here for more about Chicnova and a full blown post about the pieces will be coming up on my blog very very soon.

lots of oxford love (lool?), Tiff

2 thoughts on “Monday Move-in Madness

What are your thoughts?

